Category: Eurovision Song Contest | 2011-03-29 | 20:29:11

Eurovison



Of the seven favourites, I am discounting two as serious challengers. Sweden's Eric Saade (above) and "Popular" is for me one of the weakest singer/song combinations in the contest. The song is is cliched, the performance is weak vocally and the only thing that makes it memorable is a very slick stage show and choreography. We know that the stage gimmick of the breaking the glass cage, will stay for Eurovision, but I have serious reservations as to how it will work in an environment where all the vocals have to be performed live. I culd genuinely see this failing to make it out of the semi, if it sounds poor.

I also don't see Norway as a serious challenger. "Haba Haba" is certainly instant, but it's a serious case of "deja vu" of previous Afro-flavoured hits and it has two serious challenges that will stop it winning; a poor lead vocal and the fact that juries and Eastern Europe (juries and televoters) don't tend to go for this kind of song, if last year's French entry is anything to go by. This could well be another shock non-qualifier as it has a terrible draw (#2) in a semi-final full of uptempo female sung songs.

As for the others, I thk that people are once again under-rating the chances of Turkey. I think Romania will do a lot better than the odds of 100/1 would suggest and despite being widely ridiculed, I could see Portugal making the final (hitting the same vote base as Lithuania did in 2006).

As for Ireland, I genuinely don't know how Jedward will get on. I think "Lipstick" is a marvelously instant song and the chant-type delivery means that any vocal weakness can be hidden. We won't be the first country to swallow  the lead vocalists in backing vocals, and we won't be the last. I think that drawing the last place in the draw is a bit of a mixed blessing, but all in all I think Ireland will be in the final in Dusseldorf, despite being in the much tougher semi-final.

The one thing that I will credit Jedward (or rather their mentor, Louis Walsh) with is their ability to stay in the news. Whether it be re-creating a baby photo or a supposed "emergency hospital visit", you can't keep the boys out of the news, so much so that Time magazine will be doing a piece on them before they o to Dusseldorf. All this publicity is certainly keeping them in the news in Ireland, but so far there has been little international promotion. However I wouldn't be overly worried by that as none of the last three Eurovision winners dd much international promotion before winning the contest.

LÄNK

//Celine


    Namn:
    Kom ihåg mig?

    E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

    URL/Bloggadress:

    Kommentar: